The tired mum

Somedays, like today, I wonder if I’ll ever feel “not tired” again. It’s been a long week and the weekend is as packed with work as the usual days of Mon to Fri. Not that I’m complaining, mind, it’s just that I’m sitting here with a head full of lead and about two hours to have down time and I’m too shattered to decide what I’m going to do!

Oh, the irony! Should I curl up in front of the TV with my knitting and mindlessly absorb fabulous dross while my needles click the shawl into place? If I don’t hurry up this is only going to be ready next winter. Ha!

Do I play Bioshock on my PC because I’m desperate to finish it and really feel like some gaming to wind down tonight?

Or do I finally get some time with my shiny new Xbox 360 and carry on attempting to play Alan Wake?

The thing is. Knitting is ace but I’m not sure my brain can cope. The Xbox 360 is an entirely new FPS control system that I’m rubbish at (snort) and Bioshock makes me jump. Although perhaps I’m just the right level of sleepy to just relax and enjoy the game and ignore the terrifying noises oozing out of my speakers.

It does make me wonder why I get all these scary games when, since having Squidge, I’m now too jumpy to enjoy them. And, what’s that all about anyway? I used to be really good at FPS’ and now I’m a bit rubbish. Not sure if it’s practise or turning into a mom that’s done it.

Well, it’s getting late (time is flying today!) and I’ve decided I’m going to Bioshock myself tonight. Not the world’s most riveting post, I know. But hey, everyone has a down day.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhian
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 21:15:53

    Knit knit knit 🙂

    What you knitting?

    Reply

    • Tamsin
      Jul 17, 2010 @ 12:42:57

      I am knitting a shawl! It’s apparently idiot-proof, which is just perfect for me. I’ll take a photie this weekend and stick it on here if you like. What is your current project?

      Reply

  2. Rhian
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 12:45:52

    Ha! Well my two most active ones are both designs for Simply Knitting, so Top Secret for now… but I have three plain pairs of socks on the go, a jacket for Harry, a lace scarf for me and a lace scarf for a wedding present, all on the needles! Would love to see photie. Are you on Ravelry?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

